2012… My year of living dangerously… organized!

Standard

I am (almost) completely new to the blogosphere… but, I decided that one of my New Year’s resolutions for 2012 was to get uber-organized, de-clutter and purge old stuff that I no longer need from my life, and to write about my journey along the way.

I am, by nature, a procrastinator; and by birth, a packrat and clutterbug (though I claim no fault for the genes I’ve been given!)…  I am also an artist and jewelry designer, specializing in one-of-a-kind and unique jewelry, as well as handmade jewelry findings that I make and sell to other jewelry artists around the world.

My goal this year, is to finally get organized to the degree that I can live with myself (and my stuff!) and not be overwhelmed by the sheer amount of things I’ve managed to collect in my 45 years on the planet.  I have a mere dump truck-load of beads and beading supplies, which tend to get lost in all the chaos that I call my office and workspace.  I am also a shoe and purse diva, sporting a huge collection of barely used goods that tend to get more dust than use. (I know… sad, isn’t it? But hey, if you’re looking for a great deal on some really cute purses and shoes, please give me a holler! I’ll let ’em go cheap, since after all the plan is to organize, de-clutter and purge…) And then, on top of all that? I also love to papercraft and scrapbook, rubber stamp, paint, do needlework, photography, drawing, etc.  If it’s crafty or even remotely creative, I’m ALLLLL over it! I think it’s safe to say that I’ve never met a craft I  haven’t liked… yet, anyway! You get the idea, don’t you??? All of this *stuff*, has taken over my sanity, and I’m trying to gather up the courage (and the willpower!) to do something about it.

I hope you’ll enjoy taking this year-long journey with me, and maybe I can inspire you to get rid of a few clutter-y things too! First order of business: a challenge to get rid of at least 5 things a day that I no longer use, or need, for that matter.  I’ll be posting before and after photos too, so you can see my progress. Oh, and any ideas you might have to share about how YOU stay organized, are *always* welcome. I can definitely use all the inspiration I can get!

You can send any ideas, questions, comments, or e-mails to dangerouslyorganized@yahoo.com, and if you feel like checking out my handmade jewelry creations and findings, you can visit my website at Fresh String Beads on Artfire.

Thanks for visiting, I look forward to hearing from all of you!

Lisa

6 responses »

  1. Well, you are a professional organizer’s dream 🙂 It is good that you want to get organized and you have a plan, that in itself is a huge step. The one thing that I have learned (living with a man that “used to” love clutter), don’t try to OVER-organize, which also makes it more difficult to maintain. The phrase I’ve coined is “somewhere between neat & nightmare”. Your space must be liveable and practical. Purge a little and organize a little, a drawer, a shelf, a cabinet, etc. I will try to keep tabs on you along the way and help you as much as I can….. Best of luck on your journey!

    • Thanks! Goodness knows, I can use all the help I can get… I have a sign hanging in my studio that reads: “Please don’t clean up my mess, you’ll confuse me, and screw up my world!”

      I have always been one of those people who has “piles”, and that is what I really want to get away from, as it is frustrating to look for something and know that it is “in a pile, somewhere around here”. I read recently that as long as you know where your kids and your keys are, everything will be okay. I always know where my kid and my keys are, now if I could just find that other stuff I’ve been looking for… LOL!

      I look forward to hearing from you again! Thanks so much for checking out my project blog!

      Lisa

  2. If you got your love of clutter from your Dad’s genes, then he left the nest too soon! Had he stayed, Martha would have most certainly instilled in him great cleaning and de-cluttering skills. She was the queen of clean. She lived a clutter free life. Granted she had six kids to pawn her belongings to and this kid is grateful she had great “clutter”.

    I love your idea of blogging about cleaning. I’ll be too busy cleaning to read your blog, but nonetheless, it’s a great idea!

    Love you and all your many talents. Now, get to cleaning or blogging or maybe take up a new hobby. How about soap making…it keeps you clean!

    Aunt Mellie

    • Hey Aunt Mel~

      I think my “pack rat syndrome” probably came from Mom’s side of the family… My Granny Boles grew up through the Great Depression, and I swear, that woman never threw anything away! Especially if she thought it could be re-used or re-purposed for something else. And I, for some reason, seem to be the great collector of things… all sorts of things, and mainly, crafty things! As I’ve said before, I don’t think I’ve ever met a craft I didn’t like.

      I’m in the process of taking my “before” pictures now, to include in the blog. I’m hoping it will motivate me to get it done, and I can see my progress along the way, which is, in itself, inspiring. I am *determined* to get it done this year! (I do have to blame Martha for getting me started in the jewelry-making… After all, it was a magazine I found at her house many years ago that led me down this path. I won’t try to blame her for my bead addiction though, I seem to have caught that bug all by myself!) 🙂

      Thanks for the feedback, Mel! I’ll post photos soon, and more inspiration that I’ve picked up along the way.

      Love you much!

      Lisa

  3. LISA!!! First I am luvin the look of your blog! Great Theme. and well , as far as your personal challenge this year of being dangerously organized, I am with you all the way! I mean i support you all the way…hahaha as i am hoping that your success stories will get my butt in gear!
    Actually, I guess I can say that I have started…with Handmade Jewelry News.
    yup, we can keep an eye on each other this year.
    Have a great day!
    crystal

    • Crystal~

      Thanks so much!! Good Lord knows, I need *all* the help and inspiration I can find! I am constantly looking for ideas on how to better organize my space, my stuff, and my life. I have collected things since I was a child, and have a really hard time getting rid of them… I have to learn to be much more prudent about the things I do keep, and to be ruthless with myself about *why* I keep them! I’m excited about the blog project and hope that, along the way, I inspire others to do the same in their own space.

      I am also excited about your new project with Handmade Jewelry News! I’ve listed a few things there so far, and need to better organize my TIME as well, so I can get it all done…

      Keep in touch, and we’ll talk again soon! 🙂

      Peace, Love, Creativity,

      Lisa

Leave a Reply

